Working with RTF

I am writing some scripts to work with NoteTaker from AquaMinds and I am trying to append text to the end of a RTF string. I am failing and I am sure it’s due to my lack of AppleScript knowledge as I am a new AppleScript programmer (programmer of 15+ years, just not AppleScript). My script is working beautifully for it’s intended purpose and I wanted to add in this one last feature.

Basically, I have a RTF string (Dictionary says: “RTF (Unicode text): A string containing RTF to be displayed in the entry). I want to append to the end of it in italic, " (Hello World)”.

Any thoughts on how to go about doing this with a RTF string?

Thanks!

To the best of my knowledge, AppleScript doesn’t understand formatting (like italics), so the only way to format text is to use the tools in an application that can.

I believe I made it function, but it seems prone to fail. Looking at the RTF string, it contains just that, RTF escape sequences. All my entries always ended like:

…Hello World}
…Goodbye World}

So, I simply dropped the last character, and added \f0\i1 (Project Name)} back onto the string and all is working. I tried it with items that had bold, italic, other fonts, etc… and it’s working. They always ended with a } and I always want to append right onto the end.

Thanks for the help.

That’s roughly the size of it, Jeremy.

I noticed your question earlier and (since I don’t currently use NoteTaker) thought I’d offer an example of writing RTF to file. However, I didn’t have quite enough time to reply then. Even though you’ve evidently cracked the problem, I’ll post the code anyway - just in case it helps…

This should create a small RTF file on your desktop (if it doesn’t already exist), initialise it, write a short string to it - and then open it in TextEdit:

set p to (path to desktop as Unicode text) & "test file.rtf"