Yes Another Find/Replace Question

searched but didn’t see this specific question answered.

What I’m trying to do:
Search a TextEdit document for the words “Last Update” and replace all of them with the word “Created”.

So here’s the part of my script that’s having trouble (TextEdit has already been activated).

tell application "TextEdit"
	tell application "System Events"
		tell process "Textedit"
			key down command
			keystroke "f"
			key up command
			keystroke "Last Update"
			keystroke tab
			keystroke "Created"
		end tell
		tell process "Textedit"
			tell window "Find"
				click button "Replace All" of window "Find"
			end tell
		end tell
	end tell
end tell

The Error

The script works fine up until the ‘click button “Replace all”’ part. It even opens up the Find window and inputs the correct stuff in the Find and Replace field.
Here’s the error Message

I’m a noob, so sorry if I’m missing something annoyingly simple. This little action is very important to me. If I can get it to work, I’ll be one step closer to taking over the world, and I promise to reward all those who help.

Thanks in advance,
George

(Duplicate posts deleted…)

Hi,

what’s about doing it without TextEdit?

set theFile to choose file
try
	set ff to open for access theFile with write permission
	set theText to (read ff)
	set {ASTID, AppleScript's text item delimiters} to {AppleScript's text item delimiters, "Last Update"}
	set theText to text items of theText
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "Created"
	set theText to theText as string
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ASTID
	write theText to ff starting at 0
	close access ff
on error
	try
		close access theFile
	end try
end try

thanks stefan! that worked. I don’t know how it works, but it does :smiley:

You might see: Tutorial for Using AppleScript’s Text Item Delimiters in MacScripter.net/unscripted

I don’t have a “replace” portion, but this was my “Find”:

on dataFinder(search_string)
		tell process "TextEdit"