AppleScript and Quicktime

I’m trying to create an AppleScript droplet to automate the creation of what I call a poster movie loop.

Here’s what I want to end up with: two movie files in the same directory: one containing an image that says “Click to play” with an HREFTrack that points to the second target movie that plays the movie and uses an HREFTrack at the end that automatically returns to the first movie.

I’m following similar steps described here:

http://www.apple.com/quicktime/tutorials/hreftracks.html

Although, this is for adding links at various points throughout a movie.

The work I’ve done so far displays my complete ignorance of AppleScript. I’m trying to learn as I go and am running into what must be several gotchas. For the life of me I can’t figure out how to automate the bloody “Add to selection and scale”. I’m certain I’m doing something stupid.

Please be kind as I’m a noob. Here’s what I’ve got so far

on open dropped_items
	tell application "QuickTime Player"
		activate
		close every window
	end tell
	repeat with this_item in dropped_items

-- I should probably test that there is only one dropped item and that it is a text document, also, this assumes that the timestamp, url, and target (which will always be "myself") are contained in the file.

open this_item
			set poster_text_file_name to name of the front document as string
			set poster_text_export_location to this_item as string

-- I don't know if I need to do this; but, I want a way to reference the file later, so I can open the new document
			set poster_text_file_ref to (a reference to document this_item)

(export front document to (poster_text_export_location & "tmp") as text file using settings preset "Text with Descriptors")

-- This isn't what I really want to do, of course, I want the file name of the front document with _tmp added before the extension; but, I don't think it really matters as the 
			-- document will be discarded