AppleScript philosophical question

Okay,
I’m new to applescript, I’ve been reading about it, and playing with it for about a month now. Here’s my basic summary; frustrating. My project is to convert a program that runs in Windows using AutoIt ( AutoIt Scripting Language - AutoIt). The job is about 300 times harder than it was with AutoIt. Am I wrong here? Why can’t I just measure the location of the mouse using x/y coordinates and write a script dictating where each click falls? The GUI scripting is a nightmare, UI Element Inspector is neat, but lacks documentation. UI Browser is neat also, and a bit more useful, but the scripts generated never worked. The more I play with this, the more it seems AppleScript is not simple, easy or for the average mac user.

I want a simple solution to record my mouse’s actions, and generate a log which will run as a script. Is such an option available, and if not, should I hire some monkey to build it and sell it to everyone?

Thanks!
-Tyler

That’s not philosophical; that’s a fact!

You are right, what I meant to say was, “Why Applescript?”

I think UI Scripting is concibed to be used only when you can’t do the work using a more direct approach.
In OS 9 days, we had various utilities for this task, specially Sändi’s Additions, AutoType/AutoClick and the fabulous PreFab Player (and others)… But I think near to nobody used them for serious workflows. I mean, lots of folks used them, but for example in a serious business you allways hire someone to write some C for you.
Anyway, most of times there are different solutions for the same task. Perhaps if you explain what you need, someone will be able to help you.

If you’re trying to write some kind of “click” recorder, I think it could be done “easilly” using PreFab UI Actions. But I think as well we have such “macro” tools (not applescript-based)… Hmmm… A quick search:
http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/10348
http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/6134