applescript with html source

I’m new to applescript and I’m trying to make a script to:

1. find links on a webpage that contain a certain url path but have different endings in sequence (i.e. www.blablabla.com/1 /2 /3, and so on)
  2. follow the links and find certain text on the linked page, but the trick is, i don’t know what the text will be–but i do know the formatting of it, so if i can search the html source of the page to find the code that says what font, color, size, etc and then somehow select the text following those tags and copy and paste it into a separate document

any idea if this is even possible and any advice on how to accomplish it?

the actual application of this is to take an html calendar from a website with links to all the different events planned for each date, copy the info (date, time, and description of the event) and create new events in a calendar in iCal.

thanks!

If you’re using AppleScript, the quick-n-dirty solution would be:

1. Download HTML documents with curl. See Standard Additions’ ‘do shell script’ command and do ‘man curl’ in Terminal.

2. Search HTML documents with regular expressions. e.g. See TextCommands.

3. Clean up whitespace and decode HTML entities in resulting text. (See TextCommands.)

Might also need to futz with text encodings as a precursor to #2 and/or strip redundant tags as a precursor to #3; see TextCommands for that as well.

For the non-quick-n-dirty solution, look into HTML parsers. There’s a shortage of decent ones for AppleScript, but here’s one for Python: BeautifulSoup.

HTH

There has been a lot written about parsing html with AS, some good some bad. I seem to get what I need without anything but vanilla AS, but I’ve never tried an extreme case.
Here’s a working example of your idea, you just need to dial it in and write to file:

tell application "Safari" to set BaseURl to URL of document 1