automating file organization

hello all,
i am just learning applescript and would appreciate any help in my applescript endeveour.
i have some parts figured out and many not.
here’s what i am trying to do:
automate my image file organization. i would like to create an applescript that when i drop files (image files) on it it will

1. create a folder in a defined location with part of the date as it’s name (i.e. 2003_07) – i got this part working!
  2. rename the files with the date and a sequential number (i.e. 030721_001, 030721_002, etc.). however if there are existing files in the folder then start the sequential number from the last existing file.
  3. move the files to the folder created in step 1

so i have created some code that will make a folder with the date in the form 2003_07 and move the files into it.
i can’t figure out how to specify where it does this though. right now it just creates it on my desktop. how does one specify the location path?

on open added_items
	tell application "Finder"
		set the_date to do shell script "date +%Y_%m" as string
		if (folder the_date exists) is not true then
			try
				make new folder with properties {name:the_date}
			on error the_error
				display dialog the_error giving up after 30
			end try
		end if
	end tell

repeat with i from 1 to the number of items in added_items
		set the_file to item i of added_items
		tell application "Finder"
			if (file the_file exists) then
				try
					move file the_file to folder the_date
				on error the_error
					display dialog the_error giving up after 10
				end try
			end if
		end tell
	end repeat
end open

but i can’t figure out the code that deals with renaming the files.
it is also important that they keep there existing extension (i.e. .tif, .jpg)
in the end i woul like them to look something like this:
030721_001.tif
this is the closest i’ve come to tackling the file names:

set the_date to do shell script "date +%y%m%d_" as string
set the_plusnumber to 1 as string