How to Automate File Organization with AppleScript?

Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to AppleScript and looking to automate some file organization tasks on my Mac. I have a folder where I regularly download files, and I’d like to create a script that moves files into specific subfolders based on their file types.
I also check this : https://www.macscripter.net/t/automating-file-organsnowflake But I have not found any solution.

Could anyone guide me on how to get started with this? What are the basic commands I should be aware of, and are there any sample scripts available that I could learn from?

Thanks in advance for your help.

You can accomplish what you want either by using Finder or System Events. The former is easier to use, and I’d recommend that for now. To get a feel for Finder and its commands and properties, open Script Editor and select File > Open Dictionary > Finder. You can also consult the AppleScript Language Guide here. I’ve included below a simple description of each step of my script suggestion:

1. Set a variable to the source folder, which you will need to change to whatever is applicable on your computer. You could instead use a choose-folder command.
  2. Start the Finder tell statement, which tells the script to direct all commands within the statement to Finder.
  3. Get a list of all files in sourceFolder.
  4. Start a repeat loop to iterate through each file in the file list.
  5. Get the file extension of each file.
  6. Set the target folder using the concatenation operator, which adds together strings and other objects. As written, the script assumes that the target folders exist and that their names consist of the applicable file extension and a space and “files” (e.g. “txt files”).
  7. Check if the target folder exists, and, if not, report an error.
  8. Copy the file to the target folder using Finder’s duplicate command.