Can remote Quicktime play be done with Applescript?

I’m new to applescripting, so sorry if this is off topic or just not possible in Applescript. What I want to do is to have an applescript on one computer control a quicktime movie on another computer. Computers would be connected via ethernet. Ideally, multiple computers playing movies is what I am trying to achieve, and movies somehow kept in sync.

I’m not certain if two or more movies played together will finish frame accurately at the same time. Is there a way of keeping them sync’d?

Regards

Model: G5’s
Browser: Safari 312
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

Well, you can have applescript ‘tell’ an application to run on another machine if it’s sharing setup allows remote events, but if they need to be syncronized, you may want to consider plugging two screens into a single mac.

Two screens on one Mac is Ok if playing out two small quicktime movies. What I require is a solution so that each mac is playing an HD resolution movie, possibly encoded with the H264 codec. This is quite processor intensive and even the latest dual Macs can not decode suffiently fast enough for two streams.

microsft have now released a system (Live Palyback System) whereby one PC controls other PCs on the network each running a Windows Media player movie file. I just wanted to do similar but with Macs.

Remote apple events are a possibility, as is remote desktop, but you’re probably going to have a big headache trying to achieve perfect sync. If I were in your situation I would configure each mac to play its movie at a specific time using the UNIX crontab. http://www.abstracture.de/projects-en/cronnix