Cocoa translation help needed (very simple)

Can someone point me in the right direction on how to use and implement QT Kit’s setSelection in my Applescript Studio project? I have no Cocoa knowledge and all my clumsy attempts to do this have failed so far.

What I want to accomplish is really very simple: to set the selection of the movie in my movie view and play that selection. The range of the selection depends on the current time, so I need to get that as well. In plain language:

Call 1:

tell application "QuickTime Player"
	tell movie 1
		return current time
	end tell
end tell

Call 2:

tell application "QuickTime Player"
	tell movie 1
		set selection start to x
		set selection end to y
		set current time to selection start
		play
	end tell
end tell

Can someone help me, please?

Could someone at least tell an Obj-C newbie if he’s heading in the right direction? Pretty please? This is all greek to me.

#import <Cocoa/Cocoa.h>
#import <QTKit/QTKit.h>

@interface methods : NSObject // QTMovie???
+ (void)setSelection:(QTTimeRange)selection;
+ (QTTime)currentTime;
@end

@implementation methods

+ (void)setSelection: ???
+ (QTTime)currentTime: ???

@end

I took a closer look at a sample project by Jonathan Nathan and was finally able to at least get a result of this call:

call method "getMovieProperties:" of class "methods" with parameters {view "movie"}

With this in my “methods.m” file:

#import <Cocoa/Cocoa.h>
#import <QuickTime/QuickTime.h>

@interface methods : NSObject
+ (NSDictionary *)getMovieProperties:(NSMovieView *)movieView;
@end

@implementation methods

+ (NSDictionary *)getMovieProperties:(NSMovieView *)movieView {
    NSMutableDictionary *returnData = [[[NSMutableDictionary alloc] init] autorelease];
    Movie qtmovie = [[movieView movie] QTMovie];
	[returnData setObject:[NSNumber numberWithInt:(GetMovieTime(qtmovie, nil))] forKey:@"current_time"];
	return returnData;
}

@end