Error connecting to url

I am new to Applescript. My programming experience is limited to VBA / Excel.

I have a subscription to Factiva that gives me access to various newspapers/magaazines. From the Factiva webpage, I can choose the country of the publication (usually UK), pick the name and date of the poublication (for instance the latest edition of The Economist) and click on a link to access individual articles.

I would like to use Applescript to automate this process, if possible. The steps would be as follows:

• prompt me to choose a publication (let’s say The Economist),
  • find the latest publication,
  • download automatically all the articles in that edition and finally
  • combine and format the articles in a single Word document.

So far, I managed to tell Safari to open the starting page of Factiva’s website.
tell application “Safari”
make new document at end of documents
set the URL of document 1 to “http://global.factiva.com/en/sess/login.asp? sid=xxxxxxxx”
end tell

note: I hid the part after “side=” as I assume it contains my login & password information.

The next page shows by default a list of US publications. I switch to UK publications by choosing “United Kingdom” from the drop-down list at the top-left corner of the screen. The resulting url is:
Factiva”, where 1811821 is the code for “United Kingdom”.

Therefore, I changed my script to directly access the url above:
tell application “Safari”
set the URL of document 1 to “Factiva
end tell

Unfortunately, I get an error message: “Server error in ‘/’ Application”. Why?

Model: iMac Core Duo
AppleScript: AppleScript 1.10.7
Browser: Safari 419.3
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

Hi Caezar

you can use this command to open a webpage without using safari.

property target_URL : "http://global.factiva.com/en/sess/login.asp?    sid=xxxxxxxx"
open location target_URL