Finding matching strings in a text file and summing their numbers

Hi. I’m a novice at AppleScript and have been trying to sort out this problem with little success. I’m hoping someone here can offer me some direction.

I often get comma-delimited text files where a string value will appear several times throughout the file but with different accompanying numeric values. For example:

TS10031804,359
GS16485441,1
TS10031804,5
GS16485441,1
GS16485441,1
TS10031804,6
GS16485441,1

What I need to do is find all the matching strings from the first field of each line and sum their respective numbers from the second field to end up with a composited file that looks like this:

TS10031804,370
GS16485441,4

Ideally this would write out the summed values to a separate file. Typically these files each contain thousands of lines but I only need to process one file at a time and I don’t need to sum values from multiple files at once.

I appreciate any guidance you may be able to provide.

Thanks,
Tom

Model: Macbook Air
AppleScript: 2.2.4
Browser: Safari 536.29.13
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.8)

Hello.
I thought awk and associative arrays would do the trick.

set theData to quoted form of "TS10031804,359
GS16485441,1
TS10031804,5
GS16485441,1
GS16485441,1
TS10031804,6
GS16485441,1"
set theSum to (do shell script " awk 'BEGIN {FS=\",\"}{line[$1]+=$2 }END { for ( item in line ) printf(\"%s %d\\n\", item, line[item]) }' <<<" & theData)
--> "TS10031804 370
--> GS16485441 4"

Thanks for the quick response. That did exactly what I needed but my data sets are typically 10,000 lines or more. Is there a way to apply that expression to the contents of an entire file?

Hello.

Actually, I think it will perform as good as anything not written specifically in C, or any other compiled language.

I modified it, so that you select a file in Finder, before running the script below.

tell application "Finder"
	if selection = {} then
		beep
		return
	end if
	set n to (count selection as list)