Getting source code of multiple tabs in Safari

Hello clever people!

I’m new to Applescript and I’m currently writing a script that will do a substantial amount of producing my weekly email newsletter. What the script should do is load the What’s New page of the website I edit, ask me how many new articles I’ll be covering in the email, load the required number of articles into new tabs (by following the top n links in the What’s New list) and then extract information from each of those tabs.

Getting the urls and loading the tabs is fine. And if I deal with a tab at a time I can get the source code of each page and extract the data I need (by dumping the source into textwrangler). It seems to me that it would be more elegant to do this using a repeat - cycle through the tabs, put the urls into a list, copy the source code and do something with it (can I put the entire source code of a page as a list item?).

But here’s my problem. Getting the source doesn’t seem to work if it’s included within a repeat statement. I get a message telling me the variable (itemSource) is undefined. Any suggestions?

Here’s the relevant section of the script:

-- open safari and load the CW What's new page
tell application "Safari"
	activate
	set whatsnew to "http://www.damaris.org/cm/index.php?type=43&site_id=17"
	open location whatsnew

-- Input number of CW items to be included
	display dialog "How many items?" default answer ""
	set ItemCount to text returned of result as integer
end tell

-- open tabs for  required number of CW items
	set itemURLs to {}
	set tabcount to count of tabs of window 1
	repeat with i from 1 to ItemCount

tell document 1
			-- First CW article URL is link number 57
			-- so link number set to 55 plus 2x the counter (i) 
			-- so as to skip all navigation links and the linked CW logo in each line of the table on What's New page
			set TabURL to (do JavaScript "document.links[" & (55 + (i * 2)) & "].href")
		end tell

tell window 1