Googling from FileMaker

HI

I am new to Applescript. I keep intending to get started, but never seem to find the time.

I do pretty well in Filemaker Pro’s scripting language, and recently created a solution that builds a boolean search string, and opens a URL for Google in Safari. I would like to create an applescript that filemaker can call. The sole function of the applescript is to paste the clipboard contents into the search field in Google and execute or (hit return). I can’t seem to figure out how to do this.

All help appreciated!

Stefan Garr

Hi,
I think the better way to do this is just enter the search straight into google’s format
ususally it is formatted this way:
http://www.google.com/search?q=****enter your terms here seperated by a space or +****&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
just pop what you want into the indicated space and it will preform the search.
Here is how i did it:

set theSearch to "applescript filemaker"
tell application "Safari"
         make new document
	set the URL of the front document to "http://www.google.com/search?q=" & theSearch & "&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8"
end tell

This code will do a google search for the words applescript and filemaker.
Hope this helps,
JO

I think JO is right, here’s a script that I use that doesn’t rely on Safari:

set use_exact_phrase to true
if use_exact_phrase = true then
	set the_quote to "%22"
else
	set the_quote to ""
end if

set old_delim to AppleScript's text item delimiters
try
	set the_clip to (get the clipboard) as string
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to return
	set the_clip to (text items of the_clip)
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "+"
	set the_clip to the_clip as string
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to " "
	set the_clip to (text items of the_clip)
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "+"
	set the_clip to the_clip as string
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to old_delim