How to use file name in path string?

I’m a programmer, but I’m going to need help with this one… I spent some time looking at Apple’s AS documentation but it’s a very broad subject so here goes…

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving added_item
 try
  tell application "Transmit"
   if (connect to "[url=ftp://ftp.000.com]ftp.000.com[/url]" as user "uuu" with password "ppp") then
    if (set your stuff to "/Users/uuu/Pictures/going_up/") then
      if (set their stuff to "/000.com/gone_up") then
       upload item "/Users/uuu/Pictures/going_up/added_item"

What do I do to get AS to parse added_item as the file name, not as the literal?

TIA,
dj

I’m not entirely sure I understand the question, but what I think you’re getting at is:

added_item is an alias - an AppleScript object type that specifies a file. If you want just the string item, coerce added_item to a string:

set fileStr to added_item as string

Is that what you mean?

Sorry, I should have been more clear.

added_item is the file that’s dropped in the folder (first line of the Code I provided), and it’s the file I want to upload (last line of the Code). Say it’s ‘bob.gif’

I want to upload bob.gif, so I need to get ‘bob.gif’ into that upload path somehow. Like:

upload item "/Users/uuu/Pictures/going_up/bob.gif"

I just don’t know how.

couldn’t you have something like:

try 

set strNewItem to the added_item as string

if (connect to "[url=ftp://ftp.000.com]ftp.000.com[/url]" as user "uuu" with password "ppp") then 

upload item strNewItem

I’m no expert, but it looks to me that you need first to put the path of this new item in a string, and the tell transmit to upload the item (string).
Hope it helps

OK. This all depends on Transmit’s dictionary. Can you post the relevant part of the dictionary (the section for upload item)?