Newbie AppleScript Automation Question

Hi,

I’m very new to Macs and attempting to perform some minor automation. My code is below. Feel free to laugh at my mistakes, but please help me out.

I’m attempting to read a webpage every minute for the word sale, and if so, send myself a text via iMessage with a link to the URL. I’m not worried about and end time because I can just kill the script. I could have it run for a week but not sure how to.

In the example below I’m using Google, but it could be any page that has the word sale on it for testing purposes. I also want to check the site every minute.

I know the texting code works as I had it running successfully in a separate script. Can you please provide guidance/assistance with this?

This first bit of code is my SendMessage script. It gets called from my second script below

on run {targetBuddyPhone, targetMessage}
   tell application "Messages"
      set targetService to 1st account whose service type = iMessage
      set targetBuddy to participant targetBuddyPhone of targetService
      send targetMessage to targetBuddy
   end tell
end run

This second script is where I’m attempting to open a webpage, look for the word sale, and text me if the word exists. I’d like to check the site every minute and only send a text if there’s a sale. I’m not too worried about all of the texts in case there is a sale because I can mute the conversation (text) on my iPhone (I thought about sending a text for the first 10 mins but that’s far too advanced for me).

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated as I’m a windows guy trying to implement this on a mac

set word1 to "Sale"
tell application "Safari"
   activate
   tell application "System Events"
      open location "https://www.google.com"
      set tabContent to text of it
         if word1 is in tabContent then
              display dialog "Sale!" & osascript SendMessage.scpt 5555551234 
                              "https://www.google.com"
               else