quicktime and exporting

Hello all.

I am trying to write a script that will take every .mov file in a folder and convert it to an .avi file, to be saved in another folder. (I am a MATLAB and Java programmer, but not Applescript, so bear with me.) I came up with the following ad hoc script after a night of trying to learn Applescript, but it isn’t quite working. The movies open, but the exporting does not occur. Any experienced users have any suggestions? (PS I know it is probably super inefficient and clunky, but I am trying!) I’m running Tiger w. Quicktime 7 Pro.

Thanks a ton,
Chris

tell application “Finder”
tell folder “vmovieclips” of folder “Desktop” of folder “chris” of folder “Users” of startup disk
set file_list to name of every item
end tell
end tell

repeat with i from 1 to count (file_list)
set the_name to item i of file_list
set the_file to “Alloy:users:chris:desktop:vmovieclips:” & the_name
set the_new to “Alloy:users:chris:desktop:conv:” & the_name & “.avi”
tell application “QuickTime Player”
activate
open file the_file
if (can export movie 1 as AVI) is true then
tell movie 1
export to the_new as AVI using most recent settings
end tell
end if
tell movie 1 to close
end tell
end repeat

Hi Chris,

There are several types of references. For QuickTime’s ‘export’ command, you want a file specification. i.e. a reference to a file that does not already exist. So, try changing this line:

set the_new to “Alloy:users:chris:desktop:conv:” & the_name & “.avi”

to:

set the_new to (“Alloy:users:chris:desktop:conv:” & the_name & “.avi”) as file specification

gl,

thanks, kel, for your quick reply.

i changed the line but am still getting the same problem: the event log gives (seemingly) all the right commands, but no new file is created… an export window flashes for a nanosecond on the screen, but with no results. here’s the relevant part of the event log

activate
open file “Alloy:users:chris:desktop:vmovieclips:assaultprecinct.mov”
can export movie 1 as AVI