Quicktime Batch Convert

Hey everyone…

I am new to applescript, so be nice. :)  I need Quicktime to do a batch export of movies I make, and I'm having trouble figuring it out.  Essentially I will have about 15-25 separate movies that need to be compressed and saved with the same name as the original files.  I can get QT to export one movie, but apparently I still haven't grasped how to properly utilize the repeat command.  Additionally, I can't seem to tell quicktime to save the movie it's exporting with the original name.  I know if I work at it I'll figure it out at some point, but I was hoping some of you kind people might shed some light on how to get there quicker.   I have gotten this far:

tell application “Finder”
open folder “green two:to convert”
open every item of window 1

end tell

tell application “QuickTime Player”
set movierecords to count movies
copy name of movie 1 to newfilename
export movie 1 as QuickTime movie using settings file “green two:exportsettings:Export to 320x240” to file “green two:converted:newfilename”
close movie 1
repeat until movierecords < 1
end repeat
end tell

Help!

thanks, Mike

Hi Simon

Try this:
Save as a application in script editor to open a bunch of files dropped on it

on open the_movie
	repeat with the_movie in the_movie
		tell application "QuickTime Player"
			open the_movie
		end tell
	end repeat
end open

Hope this partly helps

You might be interested in these threads:

QuickTime Export Droplet
QuickTime Export
QuickTime Settings File Help
Export QuickTime movie to image sequence

alatteri—looks cool… however it’s imperative that the conversion results in a quicktime movie, not just one in h.264 (hard to tell what yours can do). I already have ViddyUp! by splasm that does a pretty good job… only problem is they aren’t quicktime movies. Hence the applescript.

other guys— thanks i’ll see if that helps! :slight_smile:

Update!