selected text to Palm Desktop memo

Caution: newbie to this forum and to AS.

I am a perl programmer, so my mindset definitely makes it difficult to understand AS. Nonetheless, yesterday I decided to write a small AS to emulate the various text grab services – you know, grab the selection and stick it in TextEdit or grab a selection and stick in Mail, whatever. Except, I want to do this with Palm Desktop, which, being a Carbon app, doesn’t understand services.

I wrote the following script, and the line marked with comment doesnot work.

– grab the current text selection in Safari
tell application “Safari” to set contentsTxt to (do JavaScript “getSelection()” in document 1) as string

– the following line does not work
set titleTxt to text 1 thru 20 of contentsTxt

– interestingly, the above line works if contentsTxt is set to
– something static such as
– set contentsTxt to “some very long string that is going to make the contents of my memo”

– the following works if titleTxt is set to something static such as with
– set titleTxt to “Some title”
– or if contentsTxt is set to something static and then
– set titleTxt to text 1 thru 20 of contentsTxt
– however, since the line above trying to set titleTxt to the
– first 20 chars of contentsTxt fails, the following also fails
tell application “Palm Desktop”
activate
make new memo with properties {title:titleTxt, contents:contentsTxt}
end tell

What am I doing wrong? Perhaps there is a better way to do this, and I would like to know that. However, I would also like to know what I am doing wrong above.

Tia.

What is the error you receive? Your code works for me if there is something selected, and its length is greater than 20 characters… (no valid for form fields)

I really don’t know. I don’t know how to trap the error and where to see it. Just that Safari window blinks and an empty item gets inserted in the PD memo list.